//PaleInk
you're reading...
Shopping online

Could Pinterest save you money?

A few of my fashion finds on Pinterest.

I have a theory about Pinterest. You see I like to make theories about things and then see if they hold up to a few examples. It’s one of the reasons I love this quote from the economist John Maynard Keynes: “When the facts change, I change my mind. What do you do, sir?”

Anyway, I digress. So I have this theory that Pinterest can save you money. I was shopping online today; well actually not so much shopping as window shopping online. It’s a guilty pastime when I have a spare hour I like to look. I might have one or two things in mind, maybe a new pair or pants or a top and I go looking. I love to start with something in mind and go of along various tangents and sometimes find, maybe even buy, something unexpected, or end up going full circle and buying what I first had in mind.

Today I decided to start pinning things to one of the Pinterest boards. It was fun, as I got some repins right away and through that I found some other nice clothing/style pinboard of others and went on to some US and UK clothing sites, which I don’t normally do.

I pinned jackets, tops, pants. It’s amazing when you don’t have to spend the money how many things you can find that you like. If I’m actually going to spend some money, my inner critic comes to the fore and finds fault with lots of things in a bid to stop me spending too much.

It got me to thinking about shopping for clothes, the act of pinning and Pinterest. It felt good to be able to somehow keep all the nice things I’d found and also show them to others in a few clicks using the Pinterest button that’s now commonplace on many fashion websites.

I didn’t have to give them up or forget about them instead I could save my finds for me or others. And this is when it occurred to me that maybe Pinterest can save us money. After my shopping episode I felt kind of panicked about how much money I’d spent. We’re on a budget so I’ve got limited funds for clothing this season.

As I reviewed all the things in my mind that I’d put away I realised I’d only actually made one purchase but I think I got the buzz of buying many other things buy finding and pinning them. So that’s my theory about how Pinterest can save you money.

Do you use Pinterest? What for and do you think you could save money by window shopping with Pinterest?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 333 other followers

